NASFiC 2020 Schedule – Raven Oak

NASFiC 2020 Schedule

This is subject to change, but the North American Science Fiction Convention 2020 (NASFiC) is virtual this year. I’ve got several panels, so here’s my schedule:

FRIDAY, AUG. 21st

ALTERNATE PUBLISHING PANEL1:00-1:50 PM EDT / 10:00-10:50 AM PDT  (Olentangy Odd Room)

Panelists: Jude-Marie Kelly, Sherwood Smith, Valerie Estelle Frankel;  Moderator: Raven Oak

Description:   Learn about the ins and outs of alternative publishing, such as coops, e-publishing, and self-publishing from those with experience. Bring your questions!

COVID-FX: QUARANTINE & THE FUTURE OF URBAN FANTASY5:00-5:50 PM EDT / 2:00-2:50 PM PDT (Olentangy Odd Room)

Panelists: Charles Payseur, Jennifer Blackstream, Laurence Raphael Brothers;  Moderator: Raven Oak

Description: Mask wearing vampires? Quarantine empty streets? From grocery delivery to working-from-home, our normal lives have changed in the face of Covid-19. How will these changes impact the feature creatures and characters of urban fantasy? Join us as we discuss the future of writing urban fantasy and how quarantine will impact everything from world building and characters to plot.

SATURDAY, AUG. 22nd

READING — 6:00-6:20 PM EDT / 3:00-3:20 PM PDT (Readings Room)

I’ll be reading from a variety of works. Come listen!

WEATHERING THE STORM: CREATING IN TIMES OF TROUBLE8:00-8:50 PM EDT / 5:00-5:50 PM PDT (Olentangy Even Room)

Panelists: Ace Ratcliff, Amanda Makepeace, John Medaille, John Wiswell, Raven Oak;  Moderator: Jason Sanford

Description: A mixed panel of writers and artists discuss the challenges of making art and stories during a pandemic, as well as strategies for managing health and being active creators.

SUNDAY, AUG. 23rd

WORLDBUILDING: USEFUL ADAPTATIONS FOR DISABLED CHARACTERS — 1:00-1:50 EDT / 10:00-10:50 PDT (Olentangy Odd Room)

Panelists: Ace Ratcliff, Day Al-Mohamed, Elsa Sjunneson (proposed this panel idea), Marieke Nijkamp;  Moderator: Raven Oak

Description: It’s typical in science fiction stories with disabled characters, for authors to create adaptive devices that circumvent the disability. In essence, the disability doesn’t matter because the protagonist has special eyes, or hearing powers, etc. Our panel of disabled folks discuss worldbuilding adaptive devices that are actually *adaptive* and don’t make the protagonist function as able-bodied.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



^